The short answer on GMGN vs Padre: GMGN is the bigger, more multichain terminal with a native mobile app and a flat 1% fee, while Padre, now called Terminal and owned by pump.fun, is a four-chain web terminal that gives SOL cashback and lets you export your private key. Neither is free, and the right pick depends on how much you trade per clip and whether custody matters to you.

This guide is an independent comparison written for traders who already know what a bonding curve is and want the numbers. Every figure below is dated and sourced; where a vendor does not publish something, we say so rather than guess. This is an independent guide; GMGN AI App Guide is not affiliated with GMGN or Padre.

What changed: Padre became pump.fun's Terminal

Before comparing features, clear up the naming. In October 2025 pump.fun announced on its official X account that it had acquired Padre, describing it as a trading terminal for Solana, BNB Chain, Base and Ethereum L1. Padre's own docs at docs.padre.gg are now titled "Terminal (formerly Padre)", the app answers at trade.padre.gg, and pump.fun links its "Terminal" product to the same domain (pump.fun homepage, read September 2026).

So when people search "padre vs gmgn" and "gmgn vs terminal" they are asking the same question. If you want the launchpad angle, including how pump.fun's own bonding-curve fees stack on top, read GMGN vs Pump.fun and Terminal. This article sticks to the terminal-versus-terminal comparison.

GMGN vs Padre at a glance

GMGN Padre / Terminal
Platform fee Flat 1% on buys and sells (docs.gmgn.ai) Base fee not published in the doc pages we read; third-party listings range 0.5–1%
Trader cashback None documented 10% of fees in SOL by default; 35% via referral link (docs.padre.gg Rewards)
Referral payout 10–30% of referred users' fees to referrer 35% of referred users' fees to referrer
Chains Solana, BSC, Ethereum, Base, Tron, Blast, Monad, Robinhood Chain, Arc, Stable Solana, Ethereum, BNB Chain, Base
Copy trading Yes, Solana only, max 10 tasks, Telegram login required Yes (marketed as "best in market"; chain scope not stated in docs we read)
Auto exits TP/SL, batched TP/SL, trailing TP, dev-sell, migrated snipe Up to five TP/SL conditions per position (Exit Strategies)
MEV protection Anti-MEV on Solana, three modes MEV Protection documented for Ethereum
Private key export Prohibited on all chains since ~March 2025 Documented "Export Private Key" option
Login Telegram, Google, email, Phantom, MetaMask, QR Telegram sign-up plus offline password
Mobile Native iOS + Android apps Progressive web app (add to home screen)
Owner GMGN team (self-funded, BVI-law ToS) pump.fun (acquired Oct 2025)

Sources: GMGN documentation (docs.gmgn.ai) and App Store / Google Play listings; Padre documentation (docs.padre.gg) and pump.fun's X announcement, all read September 2026.

How do fees compare on GMGN vs Padre?

GMGN's fee model is simple: 1% on every buy and every sell, no subscription, no surcharge for sniping, copy trading or automation, according to GMGN's documentation. On top of that you set a priority fee (0.0001–2 SOL) and an optional tip that go to validators, not to GMGN. Our GMGN fees guide walks through the math; the headline is that at GMGN's default 0.006 SOL priority fee, a 0.1 SOL trade carries about 6% in on-chain cost before the 1% platform fee even applies.

Padre's docs are unusually clear about cashback and unusually quiet about the base fee. The Rewards page says every trade earns SOL cashback, 10% of the trading fee by default and 35% if you signed up through a referral link. The Referral Program page says referrers also receive 35% of their referred users' transaction fees. But none of the Padre doc pages we could read in September 2026 state the platform fee percentage itself. Third-party listings put it around 0.5–1%; treat that as unverified until you check the fee line in the trade panel yourself.

What this means in practice:

  • If Padre's base fee is 1% and you joined via referral, 35% cashback makes the effective fee about 0.65%. At 10% default cashback it is 0.90%.
  • GMGN's effective fee is 1.00% for the trader. GMGN's docs describe rebates to the referrer, not a published discount for the referred user; verify any "30% off" claim on gmgn.ai/rewards yourself.
  • On both, priority fees dominate the cost of small trades. A 0.05 SOL cashback difference is irrelevant if you are paying 0.006 SOL per leg on 0.1 SOL clips.

Also note that GMGN's PnL display does not reliably deduct priority fees and tips; trust your wallet balance. We do not have an equivalent finding for Padre.

Which chains does each terminal cover?

GMGN has moved well beyond Solana. The web terminal lists Solana, BSC, Ethereum, Base, Tron, Blast, Monad, Robinhood Chain, Arc and Stable as of September 2026, and the chain mix shifts fast: competitor-cited DefiLlama data for August 2026 showed roughly 58.6% of GMGN volume on Robinhood Chain, 24.8% on BSC and 12.7% on Solana, whereas Solana was 99.5% in January 2025. The GMGN chains guide has the switch URLs.

Padre lists four chains: Solana, Ethereum, BNB Chain and Base. If you trade Robinhood Chain or Tron memecoins, Padre is not an option today.

One caveat cuts the other way: GMGN's copy trading is Solana-only per its docs, capped at 10 concurrent tasks, and only runs on Telegram-login accounts. Multichain discovery does not mean multichain automation.

Custody: the biggest difference in gmgn padre debates

This is where the two terminals diverge most.

GMGN prohibits private key export on all chains, including wallets you imported, and has since around 19 March 2025. Withdrawals require Google Authenticator 2FA, address whitelisting, a 3-hour hold after the first whitelist change and a 24-hour hold after re-binding 2FA, and can only be done on the website. GMGN's docs call this a "hosted wallet architecture". If you lose your Telegram account, no key-based recovery is documented. Our withdraw and export guide covers the exact steps.

Padre's Wallets documentation describes a three-dot menu next to each wallet with an "Export Private Key" option. Account creation involves confirming a sign-up in Telegram and setting a password stored offline; the docs state that private keys are encrypted with that password and that the team does not have access to it. Imported wallets are encrypted the same way.

Neither model is self-custody in the Phantom sense. Both generate wallets for you and sign server-side or client-side on your behalf. But Padre's design lets you leave with your keys; GMGN's design lets you leave only by withdrawing. For a full risk breakdown of GMGN's model, read Is GMGN safe?.

Feature-by-feature: discovery, execution, automation

Token discovery

GMGN's Trenches view runs three live columns (New, Almost Bonded, Migrated) across launchpads such as Pump.fun, letsbonk and Raydium LaunchLab, with hotkey buying, saveable filter presets and security flags (mint authority, freeze, top-10 holders, LP burned, bundlers, insiders, snipers, dev sold). Padre's docs list an equivalent Trenches and New Pairs view plus a Token Overview panel. We could not read enough of Padre's filter documentation to compare filter depth; assume both cover the basics and check the specific filter you rely on.

Wallet intelligence

GMGN started life in 2023 as an Ethereum smart-money tracker, and it shows: Smart Money leaderboard, KOL/VC tracker, X Tracker for tweets mentioning contract addresses, Wallet Tracker with alerts, Copy Trade rank, insider and bundler tabs. See the GMGN wallet tracker guide. Padre's docs describe trade history and holder views on the token page; we did not find a documented cross-platform wallet-following feed comparable to GMGN's, though it may exist in-app.

Automation and exits

GMGN offers limit orders (max 100 active), TP/SL, batched TP/SL, trailing take-profit, dev-sell auto-sell, migrated snipe and auto buy; auto-created TP/SL orders are valid 24 hours. Padre's Exit Strategies let you define up to five conditions per position, each with a trigger type (TP or SL), a price-change percentage and a percentage of the position to sell, available on market buys and "buy dip" limit orders. Both are capable; GMGN has more order types, Padre's staged exits are cleaner for scaling out.

MEV protection

GMGN's Anti-MEV (shipped July 2025) has off, reduced and secure modes and requires at least 0.002 SOL priority fee plus 0.0001 SOL tip. Padre's docs describe MEV Protection for Ethereum to prevent frontrunning; we could not confirm equivalent documentation for Solana.

Mobile and login

GMGN has store-listed apps: "GMGN - Meme Track" on iOS (iOS 15.6+) and "GMGN" on Android (100K+ downloads, roughly 3.9 stars from about 1,320 ratings, updated 21 August 2026 per Google Play). Details are in the GMGN app download guide. Padre's Mobile App doc page describes a progressive web app you add to your home screen; there is no store listing referenced in the docs we read.

On login, GMGN supports Telegram, Google, email/password, Phantom, MetaMask and QR scan, with the important catch that Telegram login and Phantom login create separate, non-merging accounts. Padre onboards via Telegram confirmation plus a password.

Who should choose which?

Choose GMGN if:

  • You trade chains Padre does not cover, especially Robinhood Chain, Tron or Monad.
  • You want a native mobile app with Monitor and Track tabs rather than a PWA.
  • You lean on wallet tracking, KOL feeds and X Tracker as much as on the trade panel.
  • You use GMGN's copy trading or the Telegram bots and accept the Telegram-login requirement.
  • You want the gmgn-skills CLI and agent API for automation.

Choose Padre / Terminal if:

  • Being able to export your private key is non-negotiable.
  • You trade enough volume on Solana, ETH, BNB or Base that 10–35% SOL cashback is real money.
  • You want deep integration with pump.fun launches now that pump.fun owns the terminal.
  • You prefer staged exits with up to five TP/SL legs per position.

Consider a third option if you are fee-sensitive and trade mostly established tokens: Jupiter charges 0% in Manual mode. And for a broader view, GMGN vs Axiom covers the other terminal with documented cashback.

Verdict on GMGN vs Padre

GMGN wins on breadth: ten chains, native apps, the deepest wallet-intelligence stack and, per DefiLlama data read 8 September 2026, the largest 30-day fee take among tracked terminals at $45.5M (about 40% share). Padre/Terminal wins on trader economics and custody: documented SOL cashback and key export, backed since October 2025 by pump.fun.

If you asked us to pick one for a Solana-first trader who values owning their keys, Padre. For a multichain trader who wants the most tooling in one tab, GMGN. Most serious traders keep accounts on both and route by chain.

Open GMGN

Key takeaways

  • Padre is now "Terminal (formerly Padre)", acquired by pump.fun in October 2025 per pump.fun's official X post; the docs, app and cashback program carried over.
  • GMGN: flat 1%, no trader cashback, no key export, ten chains, native iOS/Android apps.
  • Padre: base fee not published in docs we read (third parties cite 0.5–1%), 10% SOL cashback default and 35% via referral, key export documented, four chains, PWA.
  • Priority fees, not platform fees, dominate the cost of trades under about 0.5 SOL on both.
  • GMGN copy trading is Solana-only with a 10-task cap; Padre's chain scope for copy trading is not stated in the docs we read.

Independent guide. Verify fee lines in each app before trading; both platforms change settings without notice. Start with the GMGN AI app overview if you are new to either.

Frequently asked questions

Is Padre the same as Terminal?

Yes. Padre's documentation is now titled "Terminal (formerly Padre)" and the app lives at trade.padre.gg and terminal.pump.fun. pump.fun announced on its official X account in October 2025 that it had acquired Padre. The product, chains and cashback program carried over under the new name.

Which is cheaper, GMGN or Padre?

GMGN charges a flat 1% on every buy and sell and documents no trader cashback. Padre's docs describe 10% SOL cashback on trading fees by default and 35% if you joined through a referral link, but the pages we could read do not publish the base fee percentage. Priority fees and tips are extra on both.

Can I export my private key on GMGN or Padre?

Padre's wallet documentation describes an "Export Private Key" option protected by your password. GMGN disabled private key export on all chains around March 2025 and has not restored it. Treat a GMGN wallet as a hot trading balance you can only withdraw from, not a wallet you can migrate.

Does Padre support more chains than GMGN?

No. Padre lists Solana, Ethereum, BNB Chain and Base. GMGN's web terminal lists Solana, BSC, Ethereum, Base, Tron, Blast, Monad, Robinhood Chain, Arc and Stable as of September 2026. GMGN's copy trading, however, is Solana-only.

Does Padre have a mobile app like GMGN?

GMGN ships native iOS and Android apps. Padre's docs describe it as a progressive web app you add to your home screen rather than a store-listed app. Both work in a mobile browser.

Which terminal has more volume?

Per DefiLlama fee data read 8 September 2026, GMGN earned $45.5M in 30 days, about 40% of tracked terminal fees. Padre/Terminal is not in the DefiLlama set we track, so we cannot compare it on the same basis.

Ready to try the GMGN AI app?

Open the official terminal, install the iOS or Android app, or start with the Telegram bot. Keep only trading capital in the wallet.

Sources: GMGN documentation, DefiLlama, official app store listings and GMGN's public channels. See our methodology. Last reviewed 2026-09-22.